The Cubs are World Champions!

ap-cubs-win-world-series-jc-161103_12x5_1600

I am SO happy about this!!!

The Cubs won the World Series in game 7. What a WILD game it was. ANY game 7 is going to be wild, but this one was extra crazy. Extra innings, rain delays, the whole 9 yards. The Cubs came out on top, and I truly didn’t think it was possible for me to be so happy for a team that wasn’t the Mets.

It has been 108 years since the Cubs won the World Series. SLICED BREAD wasn’t even invented yet. How crazy is that!!! I’m over here complaining about the 30 years its been since the Mets have won. 108 YEARS!! Thats insane.

When Bryant got that ball to make the last out, he was already starting to cry!!! These guys were SO HAPPY. I thought Rizzo was going to pass out, and Zobrist was doing pirouettes in from the outfield!!!! It was awesome to watch how happy these guys were, just pure happiness all over their faces. I had to stay up until 1 o’clock in the morning to watch it….. but it was all worth it!

I don’t mean to toot my own horn (yes I do), but in like May I predicted a Cubs- Indians World Series. I justified rooting for the Cubs by telling myself that the Mets swept them… TWICE…. so it’s okay if they win. We tortured them enough :). Maddon even said in an interview that he was so relieved that they didn’t have to face the Mets pitching staff!! I am so satisfied with how scared the Cubs are of the Mets (which I don’t even get. The Cubs could beat the Mets with their eyes closed. The Mets are in their heads and I LOVE IT). You have no Idea. So thats how I made myself feel better about rooting for the Cubs.

I truly think that the Cubs are more than deserving of the title of World Series Champions. They  won over 100 games this season, and were arguably the best team in baseball throughout the whole season. They hit some rough spots (like when the Mets swept them) and still managed to win over 100 games. Thats hard to do!!!

I’m not sure if I agree with Zobrist being named MVP, I would have liked to have seen Rizzo or Bryant as the MVP, but he did have that big hit to break the tie they eventually lead to the Cubs winning the World Series, so I guess its justified.

Congratulations to the Chicago Cubs and all of their VERY patient fans! Very well deserved!

Leave a Reply

